Once I Loved You

Written: March 29, 2011

Yet another throwback, this time from the memory lane of 2011. This one was for the benefit of a high school crush. You know – the one that torments you for AGES, yet nothing comes of it due to your own inaction or shyness or any other such circumstance. Hope you enjoy!

Once I loved you…

Lost you were, but my eyes found you
Amid a sea of brown, white and blue
Why? Who knows! There were so many there
Yet, special you were. I held you dear.

Once I loved you…

The feelings you engendered in me,
The light inside you were never to see
No cliché butterflies, no – that would be far too weak;
But a feeling of which I still find it hard to speak

How to describe it?
How did it feel?
Should I have scented candles lit
Play soft music and just be real
In a café? On stage with a mic in my hand?
And when I’m done the whole room would applaud and stand?
Or should I
Make it visual to get the message across?
Maybe take wings and fly
As you watch me soar high
Till I’m swallowed by the clouds and lost

Or maybe just keep silence, that would probably be best
Hold it all in, guard the feeling; gain a sort of temporary rest
Capture your beauty in a moment too priceless to describe
And then watch the glow fade as I tacitly imbibe

The darkness and the rain…

Once I loved you.
Now I sit and smile at the memories I still hold
And sometimes ponder what may have happened if I had been bold
Yet though things have changed now, sometimes I pause
And simply marvel at the magnitude. I won’t forget you because

Once I loved you…

Yearn for Change

Blessings,
Walkabwoy

About walkabwoy

Young. Intellectual. Spiritual. Pragmatic. Talented. Seeker of Wisdom, Knowledge and Understanding. Musician. Writer. Human. Ordinary. Extraordinary. Passionate. Friend. Humble. These are a few words I would use to describe myself. I'm simply a young man in search of something bigger and better in life; not merely in the socio-economic sphere, but in the holistic sense. Life is not simply the biological process of living or the social process of existing.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Life, Life Stages, Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Once I Loved You

  1. Love is truly a wonder. Great poem

    Like

  2. Denice says:

    A very nice love poem, Mr Walker. Well done!!

    Like

  3. tonilawr says:

    Really touching poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

