I Rise, I Give Thanks!

I rise, I give thanks!
Thanks because I had no control over anything while I slept.
Thanks because any number of things could have befallen me in the darkness of the night.
Thanks because any number of things didn’t befall me in the darkness of the night.
I slept in safety and warmth. My house was spared from attack or robbery.
No pestilences came to interrupt my sleep. No spirits harmed me.
No accidents happened in and around my house that would have compromised my safety.

I rise, I give thanks!
Thanks because I had no control over whether I would wake up.
Thanks because I cannot keep my soul tethered to my body just by wishing it to be so.
Thanks because my soul did remain tethered to my body and I sincerely wished it to be so.
My body worked throughout the night as it usually does.
No organs fell into disrepair while I slept, simple as it would be for that to happen.
No strain was placed on my sleeping body that might have caused damage.

I rise, I give thanks!
Thanks even if my night did not actually progress that well.
Thanks because I have sometimes been assailed with various difficulties during the night.
Thanks because these various difficulties have not succeeded in robbing me of my life.
I have experienced nights filled with uncertainty, the blast of guns, the threat of floods…
No bullets pierced the shield around my life. No leaks or floods stole the light of hope.
No rot or wear or tear or terror or threat ever succeeded in snuffing out my soul.

I rise, I give thanks!
Thanks because I’ve known both joy and sorrow.
Thanks because I know what it is to go to bed hungry or sick or scared or uncomfortable.
Thanks because in hunger or sickness or terror or discomfort I have lived to fight again.
I have known sweet sleep and I have known sleepless nights of dread.
No fear has crippled me, even when I was certain it had. No sickness has kept me down.
No dread has haunted me perpetually. Eventually new light and strength must come.

I rise, I give thanks!
Thanks because I am all too aware of the fact that life is precious!
Thanks because I have not been able to preserve my own life.
Thanks because at every step of the way it has been preserved for me.
I have often felt the fear of death come upon me. I have too often seen its sting around me.
No chill, however close to me, has ever fully taken me. I am still here.
No sickness or circumstance, however seemingly conclusive, has plucked me away.

It was never my doing!
How many times have I come close to being spirited away from the land of the living!
How many times have I escaped the hand of Thanatos unawares!
How many “near misses” have been recorded against me!
How many have plotted and planned to rid the world of me!

And yet I am still here…

So I rise and I give thanks.
Thanks, not to the universe, but to the Mastermind behind it.
Thanks because what is the universe but an intricate and precise system of blind laws?
Thanks because in the midst of this blind intricacy I find personal favour given to me.
I have seen things in this world that have gone against established laws just for my sake.
Often have I had to shake my head in wonder at the fact that I am heard down to the last detail.
Often have I marvelled at the precision with which I am preserved and provided for.

In the midst of this fathomless system of forces seen and unseen,
I am being protected and guided and answered with nothing less than the utmost care
And attention to detail. I see things come together for my good
In ways I could not have foreseen or calculated in my wildest dreams.
That unseen hand has worked time and again, with marvellous wisdom and care.
That unseen Person has watched over me always, without fail.

Therefore I rise and I give thanks
To God.

I Rise

Peace,
Walkabwoy

About walkabwoy

Young. Intellectual. Spiritual. Pragmatic. Talented. Seeker of Wisdom, Knowledge and Understanding. Musician. Writer. Human. Ordinary. Extraordinary. Passionate. Friend. Humble. These are a few words I would use to describe myself. I'm simply a young man in search of something bigger and better in life; not merely in the socio-economic sphere, but in the holistic sense. Life is not simply the biological process of living or the social process of existing.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Life, Meditations, Praxis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

